As part of the Education and Outreach Program of the International Polar Year (IPY), UArctic is involved in organising an "International Summer School on Sea Ice".

UArctic Commitment Renewed

Mon, Sep 25, 2006
The University of Saskatchewan has renewed its commitment in the University of the Arctic with a memorandum of understanding stating it will continue to host the institution’s office of undergraduate studies until 2009.

University of Alberta Vice-President (Research), Dr. Gary Kachanoski, is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Marianne Douglas as director of the Canadian Circumpolar Institute (CCI) effective 1 September 2006.

A book written by a friend of the University of the Arctic (UArctic) about the relationship between indigenous North Americans and settler authorities is now on bookstore shelves.  

Sept. 13, 2006Fairbanks, Alaska-The U.S. State Department Bureau of Education and Cultural Affairs has awarded the University of Alaska Fairbanks a $150,000 grant to help establish the UAF International Polar Year education and outreach office. The office was created in conjunction with the University of the Arctic.  

Fairbanks, Alaska- University of the Arctic (UArctic) officials honored University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) Provost Paul Reichardt for his contributions to UArctic, at the Helge Ingstad Memorial Symposium on Arctic Change, a two-day symposium held at UAF Sept. 8-9.