The US Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has announced the launch of the second Fulbright Arctic Initiative.

Established researchers, early-career specialists, and indigenous knowledge experts from the Arctic Council countries — the United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, and Sweden — will join together to form a network of scholars to conduct research in one of two focus areas: Resilient Communities and Sustainable Economies. Approximately twelve outstanding scholars will be selected through an open, merit-based competition to participate in an individual Fulbright exchange and convene with the other scholars for three in-person group seminars and on-going virtual communication to carry out team-based research.

Dr Michael Sfraga, director of the Polar Initiative at the Woodrow Wilson Center, affiliate professor, International Arctic Research Center and former vice chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks, and Dr Ross A. Virginia, director of the Institute of Arctic Studies and the Myers Family Professor of Environmental Science at Dartmouth College, will serve as the distinguished co-lead scholars for the Fulbright Arctic Initiative. Dr Sfraga and Dr Virginia also lead the UArctic Institute for Arctic Policy.

The application deadline for international applicants is October 16, 2017, and the deadline for US applicants is October 30, 2017. Scholars can apply online through the Fulbright Arctic Initiative website.

For more information, visit the Fulbright Arctic Initiative website or contact the program.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the US government and is designed to build relations between the people of the United States and the people of other countries that are needed to solve global challenges. The Fulbright Arctic Initiative is administered by the Institute of International Education on behalf of the US Department of State and in collaboration with Fulbright Commissions and offices in the participating countries.