The Council unanimously voted on the establishment of a UArctic Master Programme. Eystein Markusson, Chair of the Task Force which was responsible for assessing the need for a graduate area in UArctic, is pleased with the support received by Council member.


“There is a clear will amongst our members to develop cooperation at the master-level. This sharing of resources will benefit all of our members, but especially the smaller institutions, which will be able to offer relevant master-level courses and programs that they could not have offered otherwise,” he says.


The Council also appointed six new members to sit on the Board of Governors of UArctic: Steve Jones, Chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks, US, Lauri Lantto, Rector, Oulu University of Applied Sciences, Finland, Alexander Krylov, Vice-Rector, Pomor State University, Russia, Emoke J.E. Szathmáry, President of the University of Manitoba, Canada, Barry Scherr, Provost, Dartmouth College, US, and Andy Greenshaw, Associate Vice-President (Research), University of Alberta, Canada.


“We are very please to welcome the new Board members and are looking forward to the contribution to the development of UArctic,” says UArctic President Lars Kullerud.


The Council also accepted nine new members into UArctic, bringing the total number of members to 110. UArctic is pleased to welcome:

·        Abisko Scientific Research Station, Sweden

·        The Barents Institute,