Northern (Arctic) Federal University

Northern (Arctic) Federal University (NArFU) was established in June 2010 by merging a number of leading Arkhangelsk higher educational institutions. It includes 7 higher schools, 2 institutes, 3 colleges and 3 branches providing educational services to about 20,000 students.  

One of the major NArFU research focuses is the Arctic development. Core areas of NArFU academic focus are high technologies and knowledge-intensive sectors, infrastructure development and Northern Sea Route, natural resources management, environmental protection and climate change, health and well-being, social sphere and human resources in the High North.

As a federal university NArFU develops a system of higher professional education that will optimize regional educational structures and strengthen links between educational institutions and economic and social spheres in the North-West of Russia.

Facts and figures

Year Established 2010
Total Number of Staff 4165
Number of Academic Staff 1163
Number of Students 20000
Focus Areas

Building engineering in a cold climate environment
Environmental management
Maritime oil and gas constructions
Ecological monitoring and environmental safety
Industrial biotechnology and bioengineering
Ship power plants
Industrial economics
IT for analysis of remote-sensing data on ice moving
Information and space systems for ecological management
Applied geology
Medicine biophysics
Nuclear physics and technologies